Caves Classic Run

The CAVES Classic Run took place on 15 July 2018 (please click here to see flyer).



Sunday 15th July 2018


The North Humberside Motor Club Classic car run is a Touring Assembly for Classic Cars registered before 1984 and Interesting and Modern Sporting cars.


A Certificate of Exemption has been issued by the MSA for a Touring Assembly. Permit number 104348 .


The organisers and promoters are the North Humberside Motor Club Ltd.
The event is sponsored by Robert J. Woolley Chartered Accountants and Registered Auditors.
The event is held under the General Regulations of the Motor Sport Association Ltd ( incorporating the Provisions of the International Sporting Code of the FIA) and these supplementary regulations and any written instructions that the Organisers may issue for the event.
All entrants undertake to comply with these regulations by fact of their entry.


Navigation is the prime focus if the event with easy to use Tulip Diagrams and to this end entrants may need O.S. maps 106 & 107.
The route is approximately 90 miles and should take 4 hours to complete, there is no timing but entrants should restrict speed to an average of 24 miles per hour. A road book will be supplied and the route will be by “Tulip ” diagrams and mileages. Letter Boards on the route need to be noted in the order of seeing them to confirm the correct route has been taken.

The event starts from Drewtons Farm Shop, South Cave, HU15 2AG.
Catering will be available at the start where Full English Breakfast or Bacon Butties, Tea and Coffee will be for sale along with a selection of sandwiches and other goodies for the journey.

At the half way halt there will be catering and toilets available.

The finish is at the North Cave Village Gala where entrants will be parked and displayed for the public to admire. Catering including a bar will be available at the finish along with all the Gala Stalls and Activities to enjoy.


Entries open with the publication of these Regulations and close at 23.00 hours on Thursday July 12 2018.
The entry fee us £15 per car.
The maximum number of entries is 35 due to parking restrictions at the start venue.
Assemble at Drewtons from 08.30 am. Cars will leave after 09.30 in order of signing-on.
Expected time to reach the finish is expected to be from 13.30.
Acknowledgement of entry and Final Instructions with any amendments will be by e-mail.

ENTRIES to be posted to the Secretary of the Meeting:
Ian Sadofsky,
76 Corby Park,
North Ferriby,
East Yorkshire HU14 3AY.
Tel: 07842417275 or 01482635202

Click here for the Entry Form

List of Entries
Keith Dixon/Jenny DixonMG Midget1979
Jim Reckitt/John NicholsonMGB1966
Alan Gilbert/Tony WhiteVauxhall Viva1973
Jill Coates/Richard CoatesMGB1972
David Pope/Malcolm ListerMGB1968
Ian Parkin/Lynne ParkinPorsche 9931996
Stuart Gledhill/Daniel WilmshurstLotus Elan Sprint1973
Robert Newlove/Gail NewloveMGB1968
Mike Forman/Susan FormanMGB1976
Adam Barker/Amanda BarkerMGB GT1974
Graham Hallas/TBAMini1967
Howard Patterson/Ruth PattersonFiat Abarth 6001970
Simon Nutter/Fiona UdaleMG Midget1970
Steve Wood/Jill WoodAustin Healey 30001965
John McDonald/Ralph JacksonReliant Scimitar1971
Rob Wooley/Heather WooleyVauxhall Omega V6
Michael Brown/Christine BrownBMWZ31997
Richard Curtis/Sheila CurtisMGB GT1974
Terry Arnold/Catherine SimpsonVauxhall Chevette H23001979
John Newlove/Kathryn NewloveMorris 81946
Chris Newlove/Hannah NewlovePeugeot 2051988
Ian Beech/Gwen HamsteadVW Golf1987
Phil Cherry/Anne CherryLotus Elan Sprint1972
Roger Stanford/Rosemary SadofskyMini Cooper S2006
John Popplewell/George CowlingMini Clubman973
Len Fowkes/Jan FowkesFord Fiesta ST2006
Tom Dodgson/Kev BarkerVW Golf1983
Richard Wood/Emily WoodAustin Healey 30001965
Michael Arthur/Ann ArthurAlfa Romeo Guilia1968
Tim Brick/Margaret JacksonChevrolet Corvette Stingray1978
Ken HailstoneJaguar E Type1971
Bernard NolanFord Escort
John MilnerToyota Celica
PositionCar NumberScoreCrewCarYear
1st51FailBernard Nolan and Rosemary SadofskyFord Escort Mexico1975
2nd62F/24.77mphTerry Arnold and Catherine SimpsonVauxhall Chevette HS23001979
3rd =192FRichard and Sheila CurtisPorsche Boxter1974
272FHoward PatersonFiat 600 Abarth1970
282FSimon Nutter and Fiona UdaleMG Midget1970
6th=34FSteve and Jill WoodAustin Healey 30001965
174FTom Dodgson and Kev BarkerVW Golf1983
224FAdam and Amanda BarkerMGB GT1974
304FAlan and Sue GilbertVauxhall Viva1973
10th =115FJohn McDonald and Ralph JacksonReliant Scimitar1971
155FJohn Popplewell and George CowlingMini Clubman1973
12th =96FIan and Lynne ParkinPorsche 9931996
166FChris and Hannah NewlovePeugeot 2051998
216FRobert and Gail NewloveMGB1968
13th187FJill and Richard CoatesMGB1972
14th138FIan Beech and Gwen HamsteadVW Golf Cabrio1987
15th269FStuart Gledhill and Daniel WilmshurstLotus Excel1989
16th2410FMichael and Christine BrownBMW Z31997
17th413FDavid Pope and Malcolm ListerMGB1968
18th2314FLen and Jan KowkesFord Fiesta ST2006
19th1021FKen HailstoneJaguar E Type1967
All other entrants did not submit a letterboard count or filed a non return.

Photgraphs courtesy of Dave Cogan.

Caves Classic 2018 winner (Bernard Nolan) with the Dennis Webster Shield

Winner (Bernard Nolan, navigated by Rosemary Sadofsky, who had gone home by the time the photographs were taken) with the Dennis Webster Shield.





Display cars at the Caves Classic 2018

Three display cars supplied by Ken Sturdy and Mark & Graham Tabor  

2017 Caves Classic Run

The first NHMC Classic run of 2017 was the Caves Classic which took place on Sunday 2nd July, the event ended at the  North Cave Village Show.

The winners, shown being awarded the Dennis Webster Shield by Dennis Robinson, were Jon & Vicky Seth in their 2009 Ferrari California. Second place went to Roger Stanford and Rosemary Sadofsky in a BMW Z3M and third place to Alan Gilbert and Tony White in their 1973 Vauxhall Viva SL. 24 entries were received but only 21 started the event.

Thanks to Ian Sadofsky and Dennis Robinson for organising the event which had an excellent route in good weather!!